Psalms_background.jpg

Cole Haddon

Screenwriter and Author, Including the New Novel

PSALMS FOR THE END OF THE WORLD

BOOKS

Psalms for the End of the World, new book, Headline Publishing Group, Hachette Australia, Hachette, Australian fiction

PSALMS FOR THE END OF THE WORLD

It’s 1962 and physics student Grace Pulansky believes she has met the man of her dreams, Robert Jones, while serving up slices of pecan pie at the local diner. But then the FBI shows up, with their fedoras and off-the-rack business suits, and accuses him of being a bomb-planting mass-murderer.

Finding herself on the run with Jones across America’s Southwest, the discoveries awaiting Gracie will undermine everything she knows about the universe. Her story will reveal how scores of lives – an identity-swapping rock star, a mourning lover in ancient China, Nazi hunters in pursuit of a terrible secret, a crazed artist in pre-revolutionary France, an astronaut struggling with a turbulent interplanetary future, and many more – are interconnected across space and time by love, grief, and quantum entanglement.

Spanning continents, centuries, and dimensions, this exquisitely crafted and madly inventive novel – a triple-disk, concept-album of a book – is a profound yet propulsive enquiry into the nature of reality – the perfect immersive read for fans of David Mitchell, Emily St. John Mandel, Neil Gaiman, and Margaret Atwood.

 

PSALMS IN THE MEDIA

Haddon's invention is ingenious and compelling.

THE TIMES

By turns mystifying, infuriating, and finally heartbreaking, Cole Haddon’s mad romp through the universe – (no, make that several universes) – mixes magic, philosophy, action, and metaphysics with the whimsical dexterity of Melville in Moby Dick.  Fasten your seatbelt and maybe close your eyes.  But don't look away.

‘A trans-dimensional, kaleidoscopic mystery-box of a novel…. wholly and riotously original. Haddon is a mad scientist of genre and his epic is a tour de force.’

PETER HO DAVIES, author (A Lie Someone Told You About Yourself)

NICHOLAS MEYER, author/director (The Seven Per-Cent Solution, Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan)

A kaleidoscope of narrative strands where each one is not only completely compelling, but a fully-integrated part of the larger work. A holistic triumph.

DOMINIC NOLAN, author (Vine Street)

With PSALMS, it’s as if [Haddon]’s written four terrific and totally unique books and folded them together into one Ekpyrotic meta-yarn. The sum is more than the parts - and the parts are pretty darn cool. Wonderful prose, worthy of devouring once and reading again twice.

If David Mitchell and David Bowie had a love child, it would be this jukebox of a novel. It’s batshit, it’s brilliant, it brings you to your knees by the end. Hats off to Cole Haddon, who manages to blow your mind and break your heart at the same time.

THOMAS JANE, actor (The Expanse)

RIKI LINDHOME, actor

 

BIO

Photo_1.jpg

Cole Haddon is an Australian-American novelist, screenwriter, and journalist. Dracula, his first television commission, was produced by NBC and Sky Living starring Jonathan Rhys Meyers, and he has gone on to develop dozens of feature films and TV series around the globe – most recently Genocidal Organ for director Park Chan-wook (Old Boy) and the rock musical Zombie Broadway for

The Eurythmics’ Dave Stewart

and director Jonas Åkerlund (Lords of Chaos). His graphic novels have been published by Dark Horse and others. His articles have appeared in the Melbourne Age, Sydney Morning Herald, and Village Voice Media, amongst others. Psalms for the End of the World, his first novel, will be released on 1 September 2022. He lives in the Blue Mountains of Australia with his wife and two children.

 
No upcoming events at the moment
 

CONTACT

For any media inquiries, please contact Jon Wood at RCW:

Tel: +44 20 7221 3717 | info@rcwlitagency.com

Sign Up for News, Events & Much More!

Thank you for subscribing!

Follow me:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram